One of the Wild Turkeys who  calls our yard, home.

(let me first apologize for photo quality, I shot it through a glass door)

 

 NH, 30 years ago, started a program to bring wild turkeys back into the state.

From my vantage point I say it was a HUGE SUCCESS!

Usually 3 flocks of them are raised here, in our yard alone, with many more who visit each year. 

It may be the cracked corn I toss out for them in the dead of winter or just the safety of our yard, which draws in the adults and  makes them want to raise their young  here.  I am so thankful the program was a  success. We have many hours each year where we can sit out in the yard and be entertained by them.  Turkeys can get nasty and territorial but even with our dog beside us or chasing her Frisbee, and the cat cruising the yard,  they scratch the yards soil in search of ticks, bugs and some corn.  We have the river on our property and for the last two years it has finally stayed within her banks, so they have water and food and a quiet safe place to just be.  I stay here for the same reason,. her beauty and quietness allow me to just be. 

