My Mom has decorated cakes since I was a baby.  In fact I never had a store bought one,  nor did my three brothers.  She only stopped making cakes when her hands crippled with arthritis and no longer could produce beautiful displays of her artwork., I think they were still beautiful but she was so hard on herself, really her cakes and frosting were so good and me being a kid, I hate to tell her it could have been messy and still yummy.

When she had orders for huge wedding cakes or say Big Bird for a Boston show, I always helped wash all the bowls, as each color on the cake had a separate one.  She made the best frosting.  I can not explain how good our cakes were at home.  When I was a Brownie she made a Brownie Cake and when I was a Rainbow Girl she made my doll cake in beautiful white gown just like the one she made me to attend weekly meetings in,  as well as a rainbow cape on her shoulders.

Mom was so talented in all she ever set her mind to teach herself.  I never wanted to follow in her footsteps.  I wanted to cut hair like my Dad’s Mom.  Guess I could never see myself as good as Mom was so I never pushed myself to try, ah now I know why I loved driving truck!

I will scan her cake photos someday and do a blog on her.  The photos that will be attached to this blog are ones I took her to see in Boston at the Boston Flower Show

 

Every year the Boston Flower show has a theme and then a display of talented people and what they make as related to flowers.  Hope you enjoy these photos once again I am using and Kodak Easy Share, in a crowded room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can hardly wait to share what my Mom did with a pastry bag and a rose tip!

She bought a book back in the 50′s and ended up in shows as these artists did.

Hope you enjoyed the photos sorry it went so long

 

 

 

 

 

