You are looking at what used to be my roadway.  There used to be a bridge that crossed this tiny stream and the area at the end of this road,  had a home on the left.  The bridge lifted up 15 feet,  as the water rose that high. Now I was beginning  to wonder why all this water was filling our yard. I asked a town worker to locate the reason for this continued flooding.  They came back and said they found a huge beaver dam,  on the lot of land where  a friends home had gone under water three times.  They never said they had a damn over there, which cost them their home.

 

Well with three feet of water in my home enough was enough.  I contacted the new land owners and they were adamant I too would lose my home and end up selling it to them for conservation type land  but not really.  They told me the government had given them money to buy homes and lands to help with flooding.  Flooding what flooding this was because the place was over run by nasty large rodents, called BEAVER.  I loaded the gun and waited till they came for some of my trees.  We took a total of 6 Beavers  and then I set about looking for people, neighbors who also abutted this huge dam to see if I could put on waders to pull half of it out to release the water from my yard as well as my home.  Most of his land was under water and he said he would help.  Two days later my beautiful lawn that was now trying to dry out was covered with nasty stuff as well as snakes.

 

Crazy that this was allowed to go on for as long as it did.  All it took was me and my boyfriend and a neighbor and his teenage son to stop the insanity.  This group then went on to place gates on each of these conservation type pieces of land.  Signs, Signs Everywhere a Sign  all over the trees , I thought they were into saving the land and trees, wildlife too!  This has always been  an upland game area.   Deer, Turkey and Ruffed Grouse. NOT BEAVER PONDS.  Why don’t I stop talking for now and let you see what one dam on my tiny stream did.

 

Above is where the bridge lifted  and was taken away

 

 

Right behind where my Lilacs are along side the house right below the bedroom window.

 

 

I am so happy I raised the yard to level it for a garden and pool.  This is where the water is just below us.

 

 

As we let water out of the dam area boy did it start to drop fast.  It was right up against this side of the house.

You have seen my yard,  in  the post Chores Done, so you know there was a lawn there

 

 

Where I am standing taking this photo , it was under 10 feet or more of water in first photo,   see how I take care of a rodent problem.

I worked 16 to 18 hours every day , not just five. I drove a rig for over 2 million miles and was not going to lose my

home to beavers or a group backed by our government,  to buy up homes from people who loved living here along

a pretty little river and stream.  The turkeys love it here as do we.  Something you love is worth fighting for.

 

In this shot she is almost back within her banks, soon the Heron will return to fish.

 

 

 

 

k

 

 

 

