100_2592

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

100_2589

 

 

 

Big dog right?

Loved as you can see.

This dog loves to play but on this day in the pouring rain, where I had entered JT into two rounds of Disc Dog play,  this Great Dane had spent the day either taking cover in the back of his owners posh van.  Then he popped out to check out the action on the field.

I love BIG DOGS

Not so much the small barking ones,  well I love ALL DOGS but not for ME.   I love happy dogs that are quiet.  JT does bark like a dog should danger appear in our yard,  in the form of an animal posing danger NOT THE TURKEYS  and BIRDS, but any human even if she knows then will receive a bark,  one barks says Hello I know you and the other Mom you better get here quick and yes I do know the difference.

I have owned two Great Danes.

My first was my ex-husbands , half-sister (first time I had ever heard that term) Great Dane puppy  who had bitten her.  Oh joy he was bringing back to our home a dog with an anger issue.  This was in 1979.  The pup, HUGE AS HE WAS came bounding out of his caddie  heading straight at me!  I had never seen a dog so big but said “Hi Sasquatch” (Big Foot).  His sister at least was cool about naming her dog,   a cool and very appropriate name.  He ran up and almost knocked me down!  A very happy go lucky, though rambunctious soul he was, boy you should have seen him skate across those hardwood floors, guess the ex never gave the home a thought when it came to this beautiful dog.

It only took a few days for us to get used to each others routine.  He ate like a horse!  He would come in to wake me each morning by gently grabbing my forearm,  gentle he was but I was still covered in Black and  Blue marks. The ex was on the road a lot back then and I was only living with him then and was not working so it was a perfect time to train this dog properly.  I have to say I never saw a mean gesture from this pup but  happy tail could leave a nasty bruise though.  I would attempt to walk him many times each day I say attempt as he mostly walked me!  What a sight we must have been to the passerby. A young blonde with this HUGE BLACK DOG leading her around.  How I loved Sass.

It was the following year on an early October day when I had to go do something and I wasn’t going to be long but there really wasn’t enough room in my Pinto for him to stay in for more than a few minutes.  Usually he took my small car to work and left the Caddie but today he had not.  So I dashed out leaving him on his run, we had 5 acres and I would only be gone a couple of hours.

I came home and Sass was gone.  I yelled his name I called and called for him and no dog returned.  I cried and cried I did not know what to think.  We had had a freak 2 inches of snow and I was praying a neighbor had welcomed him in or my ex had come home and taken him with him.  When he came in from work with no Sass I was destroyed what would he do out there all alone in the snow with no dinner.   I called every agency as well as every vet, I put up signs with his photo.  Seems there was a group of thugs that were stealing dogs from their yards and police told me that he was probably a victim of foul play.  You know I would take rides at night and call out for him.  All day my eyes searched the roads and fields for him.  As Halloween approached I prayed that who ever took him would open the door to pass out candy and he could make his escape.  I had so many sleepless nights and even dreamed one time that I found him wasted away,  skin and bones with white paint on him dripping in the rain, like they tried to cover up the big beautiful black dog I loved so much.  Yes loss of a pet affects me to my core.  People have nicknamed me Ellie May you know like the Clampets.  I just love animals so very much and just always want the very best for them.

My Uncle called to say there was a Great Dane he knew of that was being mistreated and would I be interested in giving him a home.  There started the life I lead with dogs needing love and a little food isn’t that what we all need?

His name was Brutus though he was so sweet and walked beside me so sweetly and he adored me as much as I did him.  He knew there would be no more beatings.  He got to live out his life with me till his hips caused so much pain I had to have him laid to rest.  Yes it was hard but seeing him yelp in pain I could not do anything about was even worse.  So I held him and told him I loved him so much and said goodbye.

We were now without any pets and I married him abusive as he was I begged him to sell his home so we could buy a rig and hit the road I was praying the drinking and abusive behavior he dealt out to me would stop if we were busy driving 20 hours a day but that is a story for another day.  It is so hard to share my life with you  as so many tears fall as I try to clear my heart of pain by letting go of all of it.  It is why I dwell on the pretty stuff.

Thanks for checking out the Big Beautiful Dane above  and hearing the story about the two special ones, who shared their lives with me, even though it was too short of a time.  I know they loved me too.

