100_1641

This story is more about our journey home.

First a  little about our trip first.

We had travelled by conversion van, a 1993 with a big Patriots mural on the side.

Me and him and JT.

We were loaded up with winter and summer clothes.

Prospecting equipment to hunt for Gold.

Dog food and human food.

Tent, Sleeping bags and even a dog bed.

 

We stayed in the tent till the Christmas day 80 mph winds broke a tent stake.

So we made do inside the van, for a few more days.

New Years Eve came and went with a big party with everyone else who was prospecting.

We set about getting our site we had used,  out on BLM land,  back to the way we found it and

said our goodbye’s.

 

 

JT  had been away from the beach for so long that I planned our long ride home, to NH,  hitting as

many beaches from the east side of Texas all along the Gulf Coast.  She was so excited when she saw her first body of water.

This dog is so smart.  Here it is winter and her head is outside the window,  smelling the sea.  You should have seen her face when I pulled

off into a State Park she was allowed in and I grabbed her Frisbee!  She bounded out of that side door and headed for the shore.

Just like when you would tell your children you were taking them to the beach.  Now this scene got better with each stop along the way.

She was beside herself with joy of seeing water again and not just in her bowl.

 

 

We watched the miles add up on the odometer,  with each one added we were getting closer to home.

We were tired. Coyotes kept us up most of the nights in the desert .  I suppose it could have been worse with a bear or mountain lion.

We made it up to New Jersey on the turnpike and knew we were six hours or less away from the door depending on what we hit as we

arrived in New York City area.  Rush hour was what we would be looking at so I prepared  for bumper to bumper,

nasty NYC traffic.

 

Now the real reason for this post.

Have you heard of Captain Sully?

The pilot who landed his plane full of crew and passengers in the Hudson River.

I had no idea it was happening as I got to the end of the turnpike to pay my toll and wondered where all the traffic was.

It was actually not sitting well inside of me.  I lived on these roads.   I knew something horrible had happened,  the highway was EMPTY

just the three of us in a Chevy van with our football  team logo on the side and no one to honk at us.

 

I asked my boyfriend to pop out the tape and get me a local channel.

We were now up on top of the George Washington Bridge,  with the water down below us,  as we heard on the radio about a plane landing on the

river!

Are you kidding me,  the reports were saying everyone was OK and they were calling this crew heroes.  Boats from close by  were picking people up

out of the river and rushing them to safety .

 

 

We drove through the rest of New York,  never touching the brakes and headed into Connecticut then Massachusetts and into New Hampshire,  the

ride really flew by, funny how when you hear awesome news  it takes you out of everything you may have been worrying about  and puts you on cloud

nine.

 

 

That day I knew the world had witnessed a miracle.

It was a new year and he had landed his plane on the HUDSON  RIVER,  who does that?

Well it all came flooding back to me today as I watched him honored again,   this time on The  Katie C. Show.

He may never see himself as a hero but to me that is what he will always be.

Thanks  Captain  Sully

