nutsfortreasure:

For Photographers a quick lesson!

Originally posted on Garden Walk Garden Talk:

Monarch

How I Get My Photos, Part 2 – Taming the Light

When one thinks of using a flash, the first thought is not having enough light. This is a primary use, but it can also be used in bright direct sunlight too. Like I said in Part 1, using a flash does seem counter intuitive to add light when you already have too much.

I mentioned in Part 1 that photography eliminates, so how is adding light eliminating an element? Well, it softens harsh shadows, so I consider that eliminating.

I found when shooting small insects and even flowers, it helps to keep detail and retain color. It helps even out and reduce contrast when shooting in direct sun. But how do you avoid that blinding amateurish look? Also, let’s do a more difficult to expose subject and see how I do.

I chose a subject that is almost…

View original 821 more words

