On the second weekend in New England, the January Thaw really kicked in.  Be still my heart.  I could not believe how cold it has been, really since Thanksgiving into the New Year.  We have been spoiled it seems.  Many recent winters we have had a little cold them warmth then cold again, see I really like that, I think.  This winter we had a vortex and it brought me back to my youth and really big snowstorms and cold weather.  We still have January to get through then February and March will follow. bringing with it who knows what.  We did not get the worst of the horrid stretch of weather, the poor folks in our countries mid section got hammered, so I can not complain just our backs and coastline took a beating so far, oh wait the heating bills have been crazy made even worse by a fixed income.  It is why I am trying to sell some photography here and there just for extra cash to make life easier.  My sweetheart will be making some things for me using his welding expertise for the upcoming craft fairs and yard sales and when we have some finished I will show you.

So what do we here in New England do when we get our January Thaw?  We get outside!  We spend time out in the warmth of a winter’s day, with sunshine on our faces. We so not ski but he used and we do not skate but we could, as the yard has so much ice all over where  we cleared of snow.  See we have had over 1 1/2 feet of snow then 4 inches or more of rain then freezing and thawing going on and finally he resorted to getting us some cheap cleats for the bottom of our boots.  Mine are still in the package his are worn in.

I take JT through the snow as I can not afford another injury like a broken arm or hip or for her to get hurt as vets and doctors charge too much. Wait can I get Obama care for her?  So steady as we go is our plan.  Chopping ice each mid day only for it to re-freeze over night.  You have to be tough to live above the Mason Dixon Line, where the north and south meet.  Yes the south suffers terribly too, with drought and heat and wicked storms that blow homes away and ruin lives.  What an amazing place this Earth of ours is, really we are all at its mercy aren’t we.  We either roll with the punches or give up.  So far what ever has been thrown in my direction I have been able to recover from, some sadly never will and I find that so unfair.  Ok enough depressing weather stuff, want to see our world yesterday?
After chopping  with the one  arm I have left of any use, I grabbed the camera and that cute JT and went off into the woods behind our barn to see what was going on, hoping to run into a deer or two.
Image

We found his tracks right away, just steps away from the rear of the barn.
Image

Some pretty interesting trees like this pretty Paper Birch peeling out in the winter landscape.
Image

This tree just a little older and stronger with the start of some curling  bark. I adore trees but you already know that :)
Image

This one has some company along its trunk
Image

You can see JT was all about this decaying tree who knows what had stopped here before us.
Image

Well beaten down deer trails could be found along with bear, coyote and fox  prints as well all leading to the stream and away from it.  Everyone needs fresh water.

Image

It was pretty bright and sunny and we were really enjoying the walk in the woods today I will hit the beach as it will be almost 50 degrees!
Image

Big and small deer living here on my property make me know I am doing something right.
Image

JT is loving all the smells nature has left behind in the woods and I am so thankful she never goes off on her own, she is definitely a Momma’s Girl.
Image

More tracks of forest dwellers.

Image

Scat left by one such animal. A deer has been here.
Image

It really was such a pretty walk in the woods with my girl even the trees looked joyful and no longer weighed down with snow and ice.

It was time to head back out to reality.  Time for some more chopping before supper was put on to cook.
Image

This is out in front of the barn, no wonder he is hunting for chains to fit his 1954 Dodge with dual wheels a lot of good all that beautiful welding of my plow being added to his truck did ,if it can’t move.   We SHOVEL and CHOP!
Image

Yes it is rather treacherous to say the least!  I must be grateful there is ICE and NOT MORE SNOW well not yet.  :)  Give it a minute we are in New England!
Have a great week and I hope everyone who was suffering in the awful cold is also getting a respite if even for a day or so and for those dealing with summer heat and drought I wish you cooling rains.  Gentle not flooding as we will soon know that world all too well.

Have a great week!

Peace

