It snowed and snowed and snowed some more. It was a day of pushing snow around the landscape, that had looked so warm the day before. The sun was supposed to show up yesterday and warm up all that wet snow and I knew what that meant. Yes back up onto the roof I would go. He put the heavy ladder up against the lowest roof line and held the ladder while I went up with cameras wrapped up in plastic bags and placed into a canvas bag, I also brought up the electrical wire draped over my good shoulder and prayed I made it to the top of the ladder with no slip ups. Once upon the roof I found out rather quickly how slippery it was and fell hard on my bad knee. Is that not the way when you have an injury?  Now I had to get real close to the edge as he handed me up not one but two shovels, our Christmas gift from Mom the electric Snow Shovel. I plugged the electric cord into the machine still not thinking it was right to run an electrical appliance in heavy wet snow, I dropped the other end down to him and prayed the wiring was safe and that some of my cheap boots had a little rubber in them.  Now with trashed knee and bad thumb on left hand and bad left shoulder I set out to see if I could do this alone while he used the roof rake on the front of the house, as reaching up hurts me more. When he had the whole roof over the kitchen and spare bedroom completed he passed me up this rake as well so I could do the loft bedroom across the way,  while I stood on the flat roof covered by rubber and 8″ of snow. No one wants us up there mostly us but when you have snow build up then rain or more snow is predicted it must come off or fear of a roof collapse is a certainty and insurance may not pay if they say you were negligent in not caring for your home.  Being poor and injured is no excuse. I pay over $400.00 a year to them,  to protect my home from things I can not but a roof and new batteries for fire alarms can be done so far by us. While I was clearing roof with electric machine it went so much faster than with a shovel, that is for sure. I had been dreading this after shoveling heavy wet snow the whole day before as he  cleared the rest of this place with the gas snow thrower.  We were so tired we went to bed early with our achy bodies. Today I had a game to watch so I went up early but it ended up taking me just one hour using this new tool and a shovel and roof rake,  I was surprised. I ended up falling two more time both down on that left knee. I have been walking on ice for two weeks ever so careful with no falls and today there were three. I was praying I would be able to climb the ladder down. Yes I am too old for this so is he but we have no other choice. So as I caught my breath and let my heart slow down I unwrapped the cameras and began to take in the beauty of our winter landscape. It really was pretty with all the snow-covered trees and almost 30 F. No sun was visible for which I was thankful.
Time to share a few shots with you. Enjoy our chilly landscape if you are having terrible heat where you live and I am so sorry for all of you living with horrible floods or draught. I am not alone when it comes to a winter landscape so many are looking out their windows at scenes such as these.

DSC_0164

The side of the home along the river we can not reach to clear it off but this is also where the sun will do its work and melt it over time.  One good thing about clearing the roof is we no longer will have horrible icicles or ice damming  occurring and causing water damage.

DSC_0165

The wild birds flit to and from the forest to the feeders some scared by me up above them.
DSC_0174

Many run to the Apple tree as I move about trying to capture the yard below.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The row of bushes I keep all along the southern edge of the upper yard is for the backyard birds to run into for cover as well.  Hawks have to usually throw themselves into my plantings to get one of my pretty little birds they usually leave hungry and have to go in search elsewhere for easy pickings.  You know me by now I shall never take a photo of death by any means.  I am just about the beauty and joy playing out around me.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We sure wish the yard was not so flooded, as this week all of this water will freeze solid, as a new cold front slips south and over our area.  Did I forget to tell you another 3 or 4 inches of snow is coming on Tuesday night and into Wednesday as the cold arrives.  We will not do the roof if that is all we get we need to rest our bones.

100_8055

Looking out from the windows I sit in front of when I make pretty things no wonder I work in such BOLD COLORS!

:)

Thanks for stopping by I really appreciate all of your visits  as you can we pretty much have the dog and cat and wild birds and each other to keep from going stir crazy on snowy days!

