I was in high school as my sixteenth birthday arrived.

  I was enrolled in a program to become a secretary though the other choices for me were culinary arts, technical illustrating and electronics.  I had made my choice and began to learn how to type and take shorthand, both of which I loved.

Mom and Dad had gone out and bought me a beautiful, electric typewriter, for my Sweet Sixteen birthday gift.  We did not have money for expensive things like that and I felt so loved to see they had got me something  I could use while doing my homework.

  Now the day got even better as we had a cake my Mom made and since  she was a baker and fantastic cake decorator it was not only gorgeous but delicious too!  When all the hugs and kisses were done with Dad handed me a small box.  I could see by the look on my Mom’s face this would also be a surprise for her as well.  I kissed Daddy and said thank you as I began to open this “extra” present.  It was a gorgeous watch, white gold in fact with diamonds inside or something like that.  Not sure how Mom felt but Dad was so happy to see how much I loved the watch. He said I was growing up and would need one to be home for curfew.  I loved my Dad! 
My sixteenth birthday was  AWESOME!

