Daily Prompt: Time After Time
Traditions: we’ve all got ‘em. They might be family dinners on special occasions, or having a particular kind of cake on your birthday (Jeanne Cake, natch), or popcorn at the movies, or meeting your friend for a 5k run in the park, rain or shine, every Sunday morning. What are your favorite traditions, large and small? What is it about your traditions that keep them going strong for you?

You made me think this morning Daily Prompt
:)

I grew up with so many Family Traditions. 
We used to go to both sides of our family, for holidays.  They would split them up so we would know our Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles as well as our Cousins.
Many miles were laid down. Traveling from our state to theirs.  Even with family scattered our parents made the effort for us to be together. I never knew there was any other way to live.

Flash forward fifty eight years from yesterday and really I have no real family. No closeness. Brothers, well two of them,  moved to the south and one lives 20 minutes from me but I may as well be on the other side of the world.  He is the baby, now 40+ years old but clearly in charge of our mom.  I was born first and always cared for the three of them but since dad passed away ten years ago I have been left to make my own traditions as each holiday comes around.

Traditions are a part of each of us,  be it currant or just a memory.

I now place a large turkey in the oven, stuffed with deliciousness, no longer getting dressed to see the family for holidays but getting dressed to head out the door.  I go for walks with the dog and my special guy.  We time it perfectly to arrive back home,  as a turkey really just needs one nice basting to crisp up the skin,  so it will look beautiful as I sit it at the table for two well the cat and dog will be allowed some on their plates when dinner is done.  I make all the traditional side dishes from my childhood and some he remembers as well,  see he has no family left at all.  We have each other.  We happily set out  making new traditions together.

 

Peace 

 

