RE-BLOGGED STORIES FROM OTHERS

New guidelines mean more Americans could be prescribed cholesterol meds

FOX 4 Kansas City WDAF-TV | News, Weather, Sports

[ooyala code=”ppdjY2aDpy35BIlsqgRvMVxSiduG4naj” player_id=”99b31ca60977447aac65383d61b8503b”]

NORTH KANSAS CITY, Mo. — New guidelines could result in one in three adults being on cholesterol medicines called statins.  Previously, the focus was on cholesterol numbers in determining whether you should take statins.  But the new guidelines from the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology put the focus on groups at risk for heart attacks and strokes.

For example, the guidelines say all people with type two diabetes between the ages of 40 and 75 should take statins.

“If you’ve had coronary disease, you have diabetes, if you have greater than a 7.5 percent ten-year risk of having a heart attack, you derive benefit from being on Crestor or Lipitor or Zocor no matter how low your cholesterol starts,” said Dr. Stephen Gimple, a cardiologist at North Kansas City Hospital.

The guidelines also stress lifestyle changes and statins rather than additional medicines.

 

View original post

4 thoughts on “New guidelines mean more Americans could be prescribed cholesterol meds”

    1. I have some photos just have not had time to write something to go with them. Huge craft fair and still getting orders for more plants for our Garden Club fundraiser I miss blogging 😦 when I sit in front of computer I do bills, then club, then answer questions on photography for sale then when I get to my blog roll I have 300 to read and reply to so soon I will be BACK! 🙂

  1. Gracious! This was a surprise. Bugs in my spices! Then again I guess I’m not all that surprised. I just wanted to let you know that my original blog is at http://travelerswife.blogspot.com/ and it’s called Musings. The WordPress blog is my back-up because I’ve heard such terrible tales of Blogspot killing blogs or not letting you in. Sheesh! Anyway, thank you so much for visiting as you have. I’ve really appreciated it.

Love to hear from you

