My Posts

My First Class Was A Blast!

I signed up for a free, 6 or 8 week class, presented by a local newspaper here in New Hampshire. It is about writing  Memoirs.

My story.

It is about TRUTH ( though the publisher of Million Little Pieces could fill you in on more of that)

Our first homework is to write a piece on a harrowing experience lol how do I choose?  We could also do it on a person we had a relationship of some kind with and how that changed us.  Both tough for me as most of my long time followers know.

She went around and asked us to say why we were there and who we are.  There was a 83 year old man who said he came as he would like to tell the story of his family in a fun and lively way I can only hope I make it to that age and have his spunk 🙂

There was another who had written lots of poetry and was interested in this writing form.  The lady on my right new our teacher and she was not sure if she wanted some day to write a novel, autobiography or memoir but she was all in. I said I was there to learn the art of telling a sad story and capturing the reader and in the end finding joy in the read 🙂 I am always looking for the Happy Ending.  The woman to my left has many amazing stories to tell as she has also lived a life such as mine full of very colorful people. The next lady wrote on her laptop the whole time in class maybe she will write of her day in class as I am 🙂  The last student that arrived a half hour late was close to the other man’s age and seemed to have the same intent leaving a story for those in his family who followed so the story of who they all were would not be lost.  I want that too but that will be in a different form I think but this class will teach me a way to keep the reader engaged  as they flip the pages of a book I hope to write you know the type old photos, family stories and recipes passed down through the ages.  No war stories for me as sadly I fought a long war and it left me broken but here.  So yes I had fun and I came home to quickly write three pieces that we will read aloud and discuss so we can learn what to do to make them better.  Here on my blog it is easy I am talking to friends.

Now comes the good part she says to me “Eunice you have some extra homework I want you to read Liars Club” lol maybe she didn’t believe me 🙂  Have you read it?  Is it good?  I must head to the library and see if they have it and hope I can get through it to the end by next Wed. night.

Have a great weekend

I am off to see my son tomorrow and sadly mom has bowed out from the drive down she is just not feeling well with all her medical issues I am sad but OK and he doesn’t know I am going so he will not be disappointed in no meeting her.

I will shoot video of his show and bore you all with too many photos I am sure 🙂

I will also be down the street from the 9-11 Memorial in NYC and maybe as I leave the city for home I can see the lights in the night sky.  I continue to pray for Peace around the world and for countries to get along but after the speech last night I am even more scared of the future for our people and the babies coming into the world today.

6 thoughts on “My First Class Was A Blast!”

    1. She is a wonderful teacher and so far king cancers but I am so glad they let her teach this course I never new the difference as I am not a reader anymore too many hours driving and too much to catch up on when I got home 🙂 I do read blogs though even if I do not always comment 🙂

Love to hear from you

