My Posts

Lesson Learned

I actually signed up to take another lesson this time Plein Air.

I packed my bag with water for me and my paper on what was to be a beautiful but hot day at my first attempt.  I had the hat but no umbrella.  I had my Easel and actually, even in the wind, it stayed up!  I added sunscreen to my face all day but tanned my arms.  I took out my sketchbook and tried to draw the scene I wanted to try and capture but even though it looked easy it was not.  I also had to set the easel up with my back to the scene I wanted as the white paper in that bright sun would have done my eyes in fast.  Seems there is a lot to this painting a scene outdoors.  I have the equipment, water and the most glorious scene of a Hampton Beach Marsh with a nest of Osprey what more did I need lol LOTS.

I sketched and then added water to my paper lots of it and mixed my pretty blues for an amazing sky then I laid in all my light washes for the scene I do not paint this way but I was going to try.  I saved all month for the $85 fee which included lunch and a critique worth every penny with Doris Rice and her experienced group who will follow her across the world I just personally like her as we are members of SAA in Exeter.

I loved my initial washes lite and pretty it was after all early am along the water’s edge surrounded by a high tide in this tidal area were grassy sections going from yellows to greens to darks I really thought it would be so easy SURPRISE it was NOT!   The next class will be drawing!   I am determined to learn all I can.

I will do it again soon very soon hey maybe down beside my river it is a pretty spot too and how bad can I mess up greens lol if you know painting you know what I face.

Thanks for listening.
Have a great week!

6 thoughts on “Lesson Learned”

  1. Well Eunice, you are a determined young lady so keep at it, which I now you will. It will all come together and you will be so pleased with yourself All your blogging friends are so proud of you. I shall look forward to seeing all those lovely colours. In the meantime take care of yourself and enjoy life.

  2. At the moment it is so hot over here Eunice that I spend most of the afternoon in my office with the air conditioning on and getting on with the Linear B study. I have one more year to go. We shop early morning around 8-30 before it gets too hot..I will email you shortly and send some photo’s O.K.

Love to hear from you

